why play violin on shoulder?

Of all musical instruments, Celeste is more inclined towards violin and I certainly hope so. You see, some of these music schools  has a unwritten rule whereby either the father or the mother has to learn as well, just as to “tutor” the child at home. And violin is a good option as it only has 4 strings, unlike piano.

Yesterday was Celeste’s trial class, just to gauge her interest basically and I was “gently” reminded that “parent should know the proper way to hold the bow” and to correct Celeste’s whenever she holds it incorrectly.

The more I listened to music theory and the anatomy of a violin (like why we need shoulder to play the violin?), my mind was pacing fast and everything became frosty. I kept reminding myself to memorize all those “fast facts” about violin, so that I can appear useful whenever Celeste is in doubt.

Then again, I do thank my lucky star as Celeste isn’t keen on ballet as I am positively sure I would look ridiculously ugly, in tutu.

By the way, since a violin does not have any feet, one has to place the violin on one’s shoulder to play.

Celest was all excited before the trial class

One thought on “why play violin on shoulder?

Leave a Reply

