Results dont matter to me..

Celeste has been “schooled” for the past 3 years.

I can still remember the first day she was at the nursery. Seeing her crying her heart out broke my heart. Separation anxiety, we were told.

3 years on, she is so much at ease with other companies and she sat for 2 term examinations. Last year’s and this year.

Seeing her doing well, is great. If not too well, it’s not the end of the world. At least for me and ney.

We pledged that we will not “pressure” Celeste to solely concentrate on studies alone.  Yes, academic qualification is important. But equally important is her mental health as well her social skills.

My eldest niece Mei Mei, unfortunately placed utmost priority on her studies (which is a blessing to most parents) but not other areas.

When I talked to her, I “tried” to talk to her. She looked straight into my eyes with her piercing gaze, offering no emotions. That scares me, actually. I love my niece.

It’s sad to see newspapers “glamourized” top scorers in UPSR, PMR, SPM etc. Headline screams, “I scored 11As due to my effective time management...yada yada yada… But when it comes to job interviews, its ” I have a PHD and I deserve higher salary.”

To me, PHD stands for “permanent head damage”

 

Leave a Reply

