Going to Hague?

I read today’s paper with much amusement. True enough, our claim on certain delicacies are faced with much flaks and objections.

Carment told me that even Hong Kong now claims “Hainanese chicken rice” is theirs as it is from Hainan island. Ironically, someone once told me that you can’t find hainanese chicken rice on Hainan island. I dont have the slightest clue whether it’s true or not. Anyone care to enlighten me?

Anyway, i truly agree with a netizen’s comment. Be it Malaysian’s or Singapore’s or even Hong Kong’s, as long as food served is tasty, I am good to go.

Who cares which food belongs to whom? If food can unite the whole nation, i will be the first one to punch my fist into the air and shout, Malaysia boleh!

2 thoughts on “Going to Hague?

  1. hello! well well.. I read about the article about “copyright” food too hehe. Hmm.. like what some say u can’t find Hainanese chicken rice in Hainan island, it sets me thinking that my Ipoh friends also say you can’t find Ipoh Hor Fun in Ipoh. U know right, in Singapore, there is this signature dish called “Ipoh Hor Fun”, but it’s actually similar to shredded chicken hor fun in Ipoh. So they also say we can’t find Ipoh hor fun in Ipoh. I think having the same name of a dish does not mean having the same flavours. Just like laksa, there are different versions. Even the taste buds of Singaporeans n Malaysians are different. Anyway, it’s an interesting topic that is rather “entertaining” haha

    BTW, I love Ipoh FOOD!!

    • Hey Eunice,
      Thanks for dropping by and your comments. Glad you love Ipoh food. Then again, I am of the opinion that the standard of Ipoh’s food has been deteriorating, not to mention pricey. Your Ipoh’s friends certainly brought you to the right place to eat in Ipoh, esp at Nam Heong.

      Have a great day and take care

Leave a Reply

